WinMX World :: Forum

Metis Scripts and Help => Metis Script Help => Topic started by: gypsyroadhog on November 30, 2010, 09:32:47 pm

Title: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on November 30, 2010, 09:32:47 pm
Hi
could some1 do a little script that when 1 my bots says something it will trigger another script
E.G.
i have done a winners script...but want some thing that says  WIN
then that triggers my winner script to display
i just cant think how to do this
Cheers if any1 can help :)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on November 30, 2010, 10:51:59 pm
<command type="script">
<in>!winner</in>
<out>WIN</out>
<out type="self">!winnerscript</out>
</command>

When a user types !winner the bot will output the word WIN and then try to execute another script you have loaded which uses the trigger !winnerscript edit this code for application in your room :)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 01, 2010, 12:03:30 pm
Thankyou very much will give that a go :)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 01, 2010, 07:26:21 pm
Thanks that worked good
but wasnt what i was after sorry
i wanted 1 my bots to trigger...say at the end of the game
i dont want users to trigger it
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 01, 2010, 07:29:56 pm
Thanks that worked good
but wasnt what i was after sorry
i wanted 1 my bots to trigger...say at the end of the game
i dont want users to trigger it

You can edit it to suit your needs. For example just adding <out type="self">!winnerscript</out> that line to your current script will make that script run another script.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 01, 2010, 08:56:46 pm
adding to what pri is saying ...and the other script should be limited to the bot only (usergroup)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 03, 2010, 08:43:56 pm
Thanks
would any1 have......Trivia Plugin for RoboMX
ive tried the download on the tutorials but it doesnt work  :no:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 03, 2010, 08:54:55 pm
you could ve looked in the archive hehehe

i asume you want this one?

Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 03, 2010, 09:19:20 pm
Thanks Joshua
Why does it say %NAME% will give a name without numbers after
yet it does give numbers after username?
In the Variables i mean e.g.
%NAME%          - Username without ID
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Stevi on December 03, 2010, 09:51:42 pm
It will not display the unique numbers that are generated by WinMX.

e.g. Username302_27974 will display as Username

However if there is more numbers after the username, it will display all except the last 8.

e.g. Username2009302_27974 will display as Username2009
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 03, 2010, 10:02:08 pm
okies i understand that but could you explain why my rooms displaying it like this

<Trivia> gypsyroadhog_352_31940 gave the correct answer (red)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Stevi on December 03, 2010, 10:43:52 pm
Check your MXC.xml file and look in the trivia area. Make sure that it says %NAME% and not %RAWNAME%. If it already says %NAME% try and change it to %RAWNAME% and change it back. After that instead of just reloading the bot, close it and reopen it.

What chat server are you running?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 03, 2010, 10:44:43 pm
maybe it would help if you showed some of the code used, gave your full winmx name including ID number (maybe replaced with ***_***** for privacy)

or ... what happens if you use %NICK% for this verry special case?  :)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 03, 2010, 11:06:27 pm
I'm using RSWCS as server
Also now all im using with it is RoboMX and not using the script i said about
Could it be the fact i named myself
gypsyroadhog_352_31940
should i get rid the _   so my name is
gypsyroadhog352
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Stevi on December 03, 2010, 11:37:48 pm
The problem you are referring to is not located in the Trivia.xml file you downloaded from here. All that type of trivia information is located in the MXC.xml file which is the main config file for Metis. I would try as Joshua said and try the %NICK% variable and see what happens. You can try changing your name, however if other users that don't have that at the end of their name is having this problem also, then we can definitely say that your name isn't the problem.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 04, 2010, 10:46:59 am
off topic but ...me wonderzzz where stevi found the ON AIR sign ..... lolllllll  :D
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Stevi on December 04, 2010, 05:22:54 pm
lol Google helped me find one.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 04, 2010, 05:31:46 pm
oooooh hehe i could ve sworn something different, at least we got the same taste  :yes:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 04, 2010, 07:23:38 pm
oooooh hehe i could ve sworn something different, at least we got the same taste  :yes:

The %NICK% variable in Metis doesn't work. You can only use %NAME% and %RAWNAME%

Just another one of those things that's in the documentation and not actually implemented.  :ugly:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 04, 2010, 07:33:18 pm
uuuhm could that depend on what version of metis is in use Pri?

i m quite sure in my metis NICK is working ..if memory serves me right .. i still  use test6
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 04, 2010, 10:49:39 pm
%NICK% shows i room as %NICK%
Iv'e tried %NAME% and %RAWNAME% and they display the same ?
Stevi you say "All that type of trivia information is located in the MXC.xml "
well i dont see any thing in my MXC refering to any of that
the only place i see it is in the INI file?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 04, 2010, 11:05:49 pm
Ta Joshua for that bit of info
I just went to the archives here and downloaded test6
The mxc is totally different to what i had
But all i got was Metis.cmh, Metis.rx2 and MXC.xml
Now what Bot do i need for them to work in please
Soory if i'm sounding dim but i want to get this right
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 04, 2010, 11:40:07 pm
well first of all i don t see a way to check if it 's really test6 i use but i do think it is (keep in mind it is not modified by any third party to correct some problems (many workarounds where used that are not needed in newer rewritten version by Bide&Musique), so newer scripts may function differently

also keep in mind this is NOT what you saw working in my room a long time ago, i never used metis trivia!

the robo version i have running for this metis (i hope it s really test 6) is 208a1 extreme edition ;)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 05, 2010, 09:05:37 pm
There seems to be 2 types of metis that can play trivia
1 uses Metis.r2x    which reckognises %NAME% as a short name but it does NOT enable hints for the game
The othe uses Trivia.r2x which makes %NAME% as a long name but DOES enable hints
how daft is that...why couldnt it have been done to work the same  :lol:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 05, 2010, 11:39:04 pm
you are mixing it all up Gypsy lol

there is metis with trivia options ....and there is a trivia pluggin for robomx (wich does NOT like working together with metis in the same robomx)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 06, 2010, 12:34:02 pm
Could you tell me the actual name of the trivia plugin so i canremove it please Joshua
all i want it metis with trivia options
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 06, 2010, 01:11:48 pm
if you look at the wrap you ll see exactly what files it includes ... a wild guess from me would be would be trivia.r2x and trivia.ini ;)

r2x would be the plugin and ini would be the config
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 06, 2010, 01:44:46 pm
Okies i can see them there
if i wanted to do any customizing would i do it in the Trivi.ini config
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 07, 2010, 12:57:23 am
What it boils down to is they BOTH read differently
SO there is a NO win situation...SHAME
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 08, 2010, 01:45:55 am
I don t know about winning the questions out there are usually verry hard for me  :nerd: (just kidding)

it's quite simple Gypsy allyou have to do is know what you want exactly and take a look at what tool can come close to that, i don t want to make it harder for you but there's even a Zenar trivia out there i think ...so there's alot of options to pick from
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 09, 2010, 11:25:11 pm
Hmmm
i did look and both have good points and bad....i know what i mean
Shame they couldnt have been combined..and again i know what i mean....yet cant explain grrr
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 11, 2010, 08:05:11 pm
Okies is the some sort of code for Metis that will remove/trim the numbers after the user name ?
I know the server can do it but it doesnt do it with the trivia game
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 13, 2010, 08:04:19 pm
Any advice here please as in my bot i am using %NAME%
and it dont trim numbers away infact it displays this

<gypsyroadhog> blondie
<Trivia> gypsyroadhog352_41869  Answered Correctly [ blondie ]
               [ gypsyroadhog352_41869 Now Has 460 Point/s ]

and the ini.
is as

; Message displayed when a user gives the correct answer
Correct=%NAME%  #c8#Answered Correctly #c16#[ #c10#%ANS%#c16# ]#NEWLINE#              #c59#[ %NAME% Now Has#c2# %SCORE% Point/s #c59#]#NEWLINE##NEWLINE##NEWLINE#
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 13, 2010, 10:36:21 pm
ok well lets get a few things straight first

am i correct to say you are no longer talking about metis?? if so you should not be posting the questions in this metis section ...it confuses not only yourself  :whistle:

if what i say above is right then yes the trivia pluggin 1.1 does exactly that ... exept where it reads from the rx2 file like in ranking (in ranking it shows the first 3 numbers of the id)

also to beat you to a new question ... !removegamemaster does not work and needs fixing  :yes:

i must admit it cost me alot of frowns firing this old beast up again to see what it does exactly ...but once it runs it's a lovely toy .. beats metis trivia imho  :)

PS you might want to try running it without a config file? i m not sure what happens then ..i have not tested .. but maybe it will read everything from the rx2 file then????????????? (i dunnow ...just a thought!)

how important is a few numbers anyway?  :sleepy:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 14, 2010, 12:01:26 am
Ta will try Josh
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 14, 2010, 12:04:56 am
Poblem is i dunnow if it will run or just create a new config file .. like i said it s just a guess

if it would run from default settings in r2x you can t reconfigure the text/settings ...hmmmmm oohwell  :no:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 14, 2010, 02:31:17 pm
The reason i wanted the numbers to be ignored is for my scoring system
whenever some1 returns their end numbers are different so their scores dont add
to their last visit as it creates a new file once game is over
not really sure what you meant by.....you should not be posting the questions in this metis section
and thanks for trying to help Josh  :yes:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 14, 2010, 05:39:25 pm
Quote
not really sure what you meant by.....you should not be posting the questions in this metis section

What i meant is.. robomx with trivia pluggin is not metis   :D

it looses scores after restart completely too anyway (it tracks renames though, even a room rename if i m not mistaking) and to name a few other downsides ...the non working removegamemaster bug ...it crashes if game is paused a few minutes ... the config does n t seem to read the default setting for hints and makes you always having to enable them (it does n t read yes, true or 1)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 14, 2010, 06:54:55 pm
I understand that Josh thanks
I dont know what mine is then as it says  Metis 2.8 with Trivia.r2x in the Plugin
could you shed some light on where to get the proper ting please...as its starting to get confusing
All i want is a bot that plays trivia...gives hints and gives players name as a short name
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 14, 2010, 08:11:10 pm
it is quite confusing and since MXXcontrol is unreachable (even for read only access) it s hard to read back in time for info

i asume the robo you use is ok, you just can not run both pluggins together, if you ld start both of them you can expect crashes

the problem is that you want the best features of both, does n't rockefellarskank know the answers? i think you know him allready  :)

Edit: .. i don t know of a metis script doing hints but it should be possible to create i think, then you would also have the Score Store feature and the shorter names too i guess ??

anduhh does the trivia pluggin really loose scores if the game stops and starts another series?? i m not sure but i think it remembered upto restart the full client or a reset score command
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 14, 2010, 10:16:56 pm
My game plays continously but have included a script that ends the game after 20 mins
they plays a new game...it starts from zero again but keeps a log of the top 3 scorers and adds next round to their scores
thats if they come in the top 3 again mind
Yes i do know Richy but he is very busy at the mo
If you wanted to pop along and see what i mean you are more than welcome at
Trivia Challenge_A193FF3E413A
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 15, 2010, 01:08:22 pm
My game plays continously but have included a script that ends the game after 20 mins
they plays a new game...it starts from zero again but keeps a log of the top 3 scorers and adds next round to their scores
thats if they come in the top 3 again mind
Yes i do know Richy but he is very busy at the mo
If you wanted to pop along and see what i mean you are more than welcome at
Trivia Challenge_A193FF3E413A
Well.. reading THAT i think you DO use metis trivia and NOT the pluggin variant again?¿?¿? ...i might pop in to see what we re talking about if i find the time to remember long enough :) but don t get me wrong i m not the right person for writing complicated scripts from scratch ...i'm waaaay to chaotic for that hehehe (can only point you to the possibilities on what you could try using)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 15, 2010, 01:14:16 pm
keep in mind that it is unwise to have both pluggins (metis and trivia) visible in the pluggin window in settings ... if you want to run both you need to run two separate instances of robo ...each with their own pluggin
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 15, 2010, 11:51:53 pm
Advice is all i was hoping...ta Josh
It is SO annoyable why they dont all do same thing
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 16, 2010, 12:04:21 am
if they ld all do the same ...what would be the point of having more than one??????  :o LOOOOOOL
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 16, 2010, 03:45:48 pm
True Josh
so why dont some1 make 1 that does everything
Technology is very advanced these days
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 16, 2010, 04:16:15 pm
Probably because after Bender left the mxcontrol projects two people tried to keep it alive and one gave up for sure, the other ...i'm not sure
Anyway i can turn it ...mxcontrol is no longer open for read only either (for a long time now).. so i guess no one is going to push that wagon anymore?

we ll be loosing more tools as time progresses i think ...but the good side is robo and metis have not lost any functionality (yet) ;)
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 17, 2010, 09:45:10 pm
Couldnt some1 here invent a bot that does all
or wasnt Winmx invented here ?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 18, 2010, 01:04:31 am
Couldnt some1 here invent a bot that does all
or wasnt Winmx invented here ?

WCB is basically that bot. But you need to code plugins for it to do what you want specifically. Metis is a very simple bot in comparison as it uses flat files and an XML system for inputting code. But again you need to code what you want it to do specifically.

The most powerful bots are the ones that give you full control to write whatever you want in that way these bots 'do it all'.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 18, 2010, 12:37:16 pm
Thanks Pri
could you point me in the right dirrection where to obtain this WCB please
and thanks for everones help
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 18, 2010, 02:27:50 pm
Couldnt some1 here invent a bot that does all
or wasnt Winmx invented here ?
no winmx was not invented here  :D it was "invented" and distributed  at frontcode and winmx.com originally

WCB >> usually here http://www.mxstuff.org/Forums/ but it looks offline now, have you ever had a good look at the archive? http://archive.winmxworld.com/ (you can let others search but you could also have a peek yourself  :yes:)

(i think MAX will have a thread about this too on his forum and if you would request it at my site i'ld post it as an attachment too [i just dont get arround filling the site...stuck at designing]), my guess is even rebellion has it in the threads but i ld need to visit to be sure)

*Note: WCB is a nice bot but I don t think there is much new stuff being created anymore for that one either ( a bit like metis imho )
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 18, 2010, 04:06:43 pm
Yeah I'd say that is accurate WCB and Metis development has ceased. There is probably only 3 people still posting new code for either of these bots and I'm one of those.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 18, 2010, 04:09:53 pm
I couldnt see WCB in the archives
any idea where to obtain it please
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 18, 2010, 07:18:11 pm
http://www.google.com/#hl=en&expIds=25657&sugexp=ldymls&xhr=t&q=wcb+winmx

google is a great tool Gypsy  :yes:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 18, 2010, 08:17:16 pm
Still none the wiser  :no:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 19, 2010, 04:55:53 pm
I did have a look but couldnt see anywhere to download the bot
plus do you need a plugin for trivia...if so i couldnt even see that ffs
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 19, 2010, 06:05:15 pm
I dont get it if i view the google link i ve posted i see:

Quote from: Google
winmx - WCB WinMX Chat Bot & Pluginswinmx The WCB is a small but powerful bot, it has the ability with plugins to bring up chat rooms if you cant find one, it can also search files, ...
maxtech.youneed.us/.../wcb-winmx-chat-bot-plugins-t543.htm?...winmx - Cached

don t you see that the third find?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Joshua203 on December 19, 2010, 06:07:07 pm
oooh and i never said there was a trivia pluggin for it .. in fact i ve never heard of one

i think Pri meant that it could be created ?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 19, 2010, 08:48:50 pm
Hmmm
how is it known it will do away with all the probs im having if it hasnt been done b4 ?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 19, 2010, 10:43:17 pm
Hmmm
how is it known it will do away with all the probs im having if it hasnt been done b4 ?

What I meant was WCB can do anything you want it to do - IF you program plugins for it. It can't do everything out of the box it's just a bot that you still need to program all the plugins for. It's a foundation a base etc
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 20, 2010, 12:07:29 am
K i understand that Pri
Coul you do something then ?
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 20, 2010, 11:19:31 pm
Should i just carry on as i am
and stop bothering you guys lol
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: Pri on December 21, 2010, 11:28:41 pm
It depends what you want done, I usually make stuff that hasn't been done before and I'm not really in to the games and things.

But tell me what it is you want and I'll think it over and if I don't decide to do it someone else might.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 22, 2010, 11:43:30 pm
Gee dont do it just for me but many thanks
I just was aking about a bot thats does everything that a trivia fan would like
but not every1 is into trivia really
Thanks Again :-D
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: tig on December 23, 2010, 12:56:07 pm
Wpcc does do everything as it has additional plug ins. You can set that up I havent played with in a while.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 23, 2010, 11:48:41 pm
Whats Wpcc
i said im a bit dim lol
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: tig on December 24, 2010, 01:36:23 am
Wpcc is is a chat client made into a bot with additional plug ins.

http://www.winmxworld.com/tutorials/wpcc_plugins_index.html

This is tutorial for the additional plug ins.
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 24, 2010, 10:19:55 pm
Shame they seem dead pages as i would have had a read
and my problems been sorted in the ini file it said

; How many questions a user must answer in a row to have
; a winning streak ?
WinningStreak=15

; Winning streak message
WinningStreakMsg=!!addwin %NAME% #NEWLINE#
and the bot was reading #NEWLINE# to so giving different names
it been removed a yipee kia ....it works great
merry xmas everybody :yes:
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: tig on December 24, 2010, 10:39:09 pm
Hmmm dead pages? this is wory can you please tell me what they are saying exactly so I can make sure that they are fixed up.

Thanks
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: gypsyroadhog on December 25, 2010, 12:52:16 pm
Sorry i meant when i click on the downloads it says
The webpage cannot be found
 
Title: Re: Help Please
Post by: tig on December 25, 2010, 12:55:47 pm
Try from here:

http://archive.winmxworld.com/Emulator/WinMx%20Professional%20Chat%20Client/Beta%20Versions/WPCC%20Plugin/