WinMX World :: Forum

WinMX Help => Other WinMX Help => Topic started by: Me Here on March 16, 2006, 08:38:07 pm

Title: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on March 16, 2006, 08:38:07 pm
Hi folks,

Many many users have problems with uploads, pms, maintaining a working primary and most of the time the cause is a router or dsl modem.  This section is a place to post if you are having problems with WinMx and have a DSL modem or Router installed.

If you have a router that is not appearing on Portforward.com, please let me know also.  If we can locate the online user manuals we will make a guide for them.

Here are a few we have done for users already:
Thomson SpeedTouch 580 (http://www.winmxworld.com/tutorials/router_thomson_580.html)
Zonet zsr0104f (http://www.winmxworld.com/tutorials/router_zonet_zsr0104f.html)
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Mark Mather on April 02, 2006, 07:28:27 pm
Hi my router is causing me problems. it let me connect on primary but will not let me search or download anything.
The Router is a Wireless G-54Mbps Broadband router by INEXQ
Any suggestions would be welcome. Would you be able to email me any information please. my email address is:   mark.mather@blueyonder.co.uk
thank you :lol:
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on April 03, 2006, 08:36:37 am
Mark Help me out here..

Can you try to find exactly which product on this page you have for me?

http://www.inexq.com/web1/english/product/Prod.asp?c1=Innovation+Line&c2

Click the Networking option and find your exact product there
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: mark mather on April 03, 2006, 06:33:57 pm
Hi have checked page out, not listed on there (they don't actually have many at all on that page)
I have checked out the details of mine and it is an ISW055t and the latest they have listed is a ISW054t/u. Don't know if you will be able to help with that info but if you can please let me know.
Many thanks.  Mark
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: KM on April 04, 2006, 12:09:50 am
you should find that the same general procedures apply for all routers, the only real differences between them are that they sometimes use slightly different names for forwarding ports, you can probably follow the instructions from a similar model and they'll probably be exactly the same (they don't go changing things too much with different models - because that means spending money doing everything again when they can just save money and re-use the same firmware)
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: wendy on June 19, 2006, 05:07:22 am
router problem i have motorola SB5120 it is not listed help please ***********@aol.com
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Bearded Blunder on June 19, 2006, 05:58:41 am
I've had a look at the user manual at http://broadband.motorola.com/consumers/products/SB5120/downloads/SB5120_User_Guide.pdf
as far as I can determine this is a straight modem, not a router, in order to use multiple computers you would have to use Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or add a hardware router.

*email also removed from your post for your security
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: J F Fleck on June 22, 2006, 04:05:50 am
What causes a change in IP addresses after all machines on your network have had static IP addresses assigned ?
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on June 22, 2006, 01:43:37 pm
Most models of router only assign a lease to an IP on the LAN for 24 hours, often the main causes for them to be changed are multiple machines on the LAN booting up in a different sequence or a power outage or sudden power loss can also cause it.  Not all ppl bother to set up a static ip on the LAN when doing the portforwarding...
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 24, 2006, 12:26:57 am
Hey there,
     Finally sprung for dsl, now my winmx does not work.   We have four computers networked here at home with a qwest modem giving us dsl hooked to our router an actiontec.  We've tried all the help files we could find on, routers, primary and secondary connection, and anything else that looked like it might work.   Nothing but a flashing yellow light.  We've reloaded, forwarded ports, etc.  Still only a flashing yellow light.  Any help would be great, I would like to have winmx back.    Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on June 24, 2006, 12:56:54 am
Couple things that I am wondering about your set up.. you have a straight DSL modem or does it have 'router like' or NAT capabiities.. if so you will need special instructions on the set up through a dual router situaltion.

If your unsure pop the name and model number of both the DSL Modem and the Router here for us to look at for you.

Also I know this sounds silly but you did make sure they are winmx group patched WinMX programs?  Many users are seeing yellow flashing right now, our folks have reconnected thousands of failed Pie patched users.

If your unsure just make sure to install a patch from here

http://www.winmxgroup.com/

on each WinMX Machine.

Let us know what ya can
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 24, 2006, 05:41:43 pm
Well the model # is BEFSR 41 ver. 4
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on June 24, 2006, 07:37:20 pm
So far the only router I can find with that Model Number is the Linksys BEFSR 41 .. are you sure its an actiontec and not a linksys ?

OK here is the model number if you have a Linksys router that is:

http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Linksys/BEFSR41v2/WinMX.htm

Just follow along first for the main machine.

Because you have so many PC's on this home network I also recommend you follow the instructions for each to set a Static IP for each, this way the Linksys wont reassign numbers and make your rules invalid.

Just remember these two things.  Each PC is given a different IP so that it will know how to direct certain traffic to and from the internet.  Each machine must then have two rules set up for WinMX.
Each machine will have its own set of rules with its own IP address.

You will see on that page it uses the example of the Default ports for WinMX  6699 for TCP and 6257 for UDP.
Each machine on your home network must use a different set of port numbers.

For example
16699 TCP and 16257 UDP
26699 TCP and 26257 UDP  etc..

Any number between 1 and 65535 should work if not in use by another application.
*********************************************************

Just to make sure I havent confused you totally here is an example of how the router rules MIGHT look for more then one PC
**the IP numbers may not match what yours should be**

name             private ip                 external port         internal ports       TCP/UDP      enable/disable
WinMX           192.168.1.202         6699 - 6699           6699 - 6699          TCP               enable
WinMX           192.168.1.202         6257 - 6257           6257 - 6257          UDP               enable
WinMX2         192.168.1.201         16699-16699         16699-16699          TCP               enable
WinMX2         192.168.1.201         16257-16257         16257-16257          UDP              enable
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 25, 2006, 12:01:27 am
Hey there again,
     Thank you ever so much for trying to help!   I ran off to work this morning after reading your note.  I asked my son to relay the models, I'm afaid he was a bit confused.  Let me see if I can tell you what you need.   We have four computers hooked to a Linksys cable router, model BEFSR41 wired.  This is connnected to a Qwest actiontec GT-701-WG DSL modem.   Everyone is connect to the internet just fine.   (Though I do believe our networking could be tweeted a bit better.)  Just no winmx.    Thanks again Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 25, 2006, 12:18:43 am
Hi once more,
      I have been to the port forwarding for the Linksys, though I have not asigned static ip's mainly because only one computer has winmx, mine.  If you think it is still nessary I'm sure I can muddle my way through that.    Thanks again, Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: nylly444 on June 25, 2006, 10:09:54 am
If it's necessary will depend on your router, if you always get assigned the same IP it might work as it is, but if it suddenly won't work anymore it might be due to the router changing that IP.
You could of course try it as is and do the static IP later if you experience problems, but I'd do it now to be on the safe side, it's not that hard really :)
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 25, 2006, 01:00:10 pm
Hello,
       My machine's ip has stayed the same, I think because it's always the first one hooked up.  The trouble started when we hooked the router to the DSL modem.  Everything works but winmx, we've even tried hooking this computer straight into the moden, still no winmx.  We've been to the configuration site a least a half dozen or so times, still no luck.   Though I'll try the static address thing later this morning, after everyone gets done with the internet.  Worked just fine when we had dail up.    thanks Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on June 25, 2006, 01:13:56 pm
The problem you have now that I see both brands is your modem is also NAT capable.  Meaning it can act as a router also.   Many folks use both in order to have wireless internet on other machines..

Your going to need to set the Modem (actiontec) to DMZ for the router IP... here is a basic generic guide attached.  This will allow the linksys to have rules set for specific machines and allow the actiontec to act as just a Strait modem.

Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on June 25, 2006, 05:00:40 pm
Help!  I have tried the guide and am unable to do anything with my WAN settings other than disable or enable WAN.  In the process I have manage to disconnect from the internet and through restore regained access.  I am a little hesitant to go messing around with the settings again.  Can anybody give me more detail help in where I need to go or what I need to do to get both routers to allow me to connect to winmx.  I am computer literate but not by any means an expert. Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Bearded Blunder on June 25, 2006, 05:32:15 pm
Basically you need to disable NAT in one of them (makes no difference which, just look for a disable NAT option hit it & save changes) then use the guide at www.portforward.com to set the OTHER one up to forward ports for WinMX.

Doing the whole static IP bit for your network is usually a good idea, but not ALWAYS needed, some routers will always give a given computer the same IP, other allow you to RESERVE a particular IP for your computer within the DHCP settings, personally as my router has the last option, I use it, that way I can manage my network's IP addressing centrally without having to visit PCs which reside in girl's bedrooms to set things up.....

btw as you found out WAN = Wide Area Network = Internet.. disabling that isn't such a good idea :wink:

Please don't forget we also have a chatroom with live people in it, WinMX doesn't need to be connected or fully working for you to get there, just hit the chat button, dismiss the warning, then paste
WinMxWorld.com Help_BABA1354BABE
into the space next to the Filter button & hit the one that says Join (on it's own not the Join Selected...)
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 05, 2006, 10:56:24 pm
Hello,
Thanks for trying to help.  Disabling the NAT really caused a mess.  I even bought a book on networking, it hasn't helped yet. I will let you know if I figure this mess out.  Thanks again Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Bearded Blunder on July 06, 2006, 06:49:31 am
That had to be on one only.. as you describe things, you effectively have 2 routers, disabling NAT on one device leaves you in the simpler situation of only having one.. which then requires configuring from scratch.

Have you considered visiting the help chatroom?  WinMxWorld.com_BABA1354BABE
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa_124 on July 06, 2006, 04:16:23 pm
I can't seem to get access to the chat room.  When I paste the link in my address bar I get a search error screen.  I have noticed in all my efforts that I am unable to ping myself though I can ping my modem, router, and other computers.  Could this also be a problem in why WimMX is not working properly?  Thanks again for your help and support, Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on July 06, 2006, 04:37:00 pm
Clearisa,

Open WinMX. click the 'Chat' button then say yes when the warning box comes up.. then in the filter bar you see a black bar.. you can copy and paste that room in there.. make sure there are no extra spaces copied ... then click the joim button on the far right side...

Should deliver you to us..
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 06, 2006, 04:49:26 pm
That helps but WinMX can not connect to the network or the internet and thus I can not get into the chat room.  My latest dilema.  Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on July 06, 2006, 04:55:45 pm
Clearisa if that machine can connect to the internet you can get there.. WinMX doesnt need to be connected to get to the chat room.. give it a try even if  your light stays yellow.. just click the Chat button and try it..

Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 06, 2006, 05:11:29 pm
Hey there,
   Did, it's still connecting as I write, I left it on.  I think it might really be possessed this time.  Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on July 06, 2006, 07:17:13 pm
LOL  alternatively Clearisa if you cant get to the room PM me on site. maybe i can find someone that can help you set this system up on say MSN or something..
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Bearded Blunder on July 06, 2006, 08:46:52 pm
Alternatively if you can get web pages, http://2sen.dip.jp/2sene/ have a useful little button on the left of their website "WEB MX Chat" which would enable you to get to the chatroom using internet explorer.

Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 06, 2006, 09:19:38 pm
I have internet connection, I can write posts here, but I still am unable to get WinMX chat up and running.  I am afraid I don't understand what PM is.  Thanks for the support, Clearisa.
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 06, 2006, 09:29:40 pm
For some reason 2sen can not be opened by my computer for it can not be verified and my security settings will not allow me to override so I can open it.  I am throughly convinced that my computer is possessed against running WinMX.  Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 08, 2006, 01:28:21 am
Hello,
    After many trails and tribulations I have managed to get to mxcontrol chat rooms.  I found Bearded_blunder  and me_here listed.  I now know what pm means.  Still notta on winmx. Static addressing, port forwarding and all. Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on July 08, 2006, 02:12:24 am
Clearisa click the little greenish/greyish icon under my avatar that look sorta like a little scroll and that should give you the option to send me a pm on the site here... then when you come on you can click the option way at the top with your name and says

Hey, Clearisa, you have 1 messages, 1 are new

That will take you to your pms here on site.. cause huni I am not sure what you mean by you found an MXControl room with a Me_here Listed..

I have someone that could help you that works with this sort of set up alot but i need to contact you less publically
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 08, 2006, 01:30:28 pm
Hey there,  I found a program site "www.mxcontrol.org/modules.php?name=Private_messages".   You are listed as a member, so is the bearded blunder.   Guess maybe your not, oh well. I was wondering what those little icon meant, thanks for the invite to write you personally.  Clearisa
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Bearded Blunder on July 08, 2006, 02:19:51 pm
I am indeed listed as a member at mxcontrol, though i rarely visit there if the truth is told, the little green scrolly looking icon under my name here is far more likely to get my attention here, as for Me Here I can't say how often she visits mxcontrol, but the same icon under her name HERE will send her a message privately on this site.
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on July 08, 2006, 03:27:02 pm
Yes I am also a member there but dont visit often either.. much more likely to get my immediate attention from here..

Clearisa I think you should call your ISP.. and tell them what you have as far as a Linksys.. tell them you need to set this up on the modem so that you internet passes through the modem and lets the Linksys direct traffic..

Then we can help you better to set up the linksys for the other pcs..
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Clearisa on July 08, 2006, 04:11:29 pm
Hey there,
   Thanks for the note, unfortunately I'm about to run off to work.  Will be home in 4-6 hours and will call the isp as directed.  Take Care Clearisa.
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: zoey on January 12, 2007, 05:10:31 am
HI - I have this router 'Paradyne Firmware'. How do I connect to WinMix. Its not on your list.
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: reef on January 12, 2007, 06:14:24 am
Hi zoey.....this link should explain how to open ports for winmx..... give it a try

http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Paradyne/6381/Echolink.htm
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: cnyguy on February 25, 2007, 08:26:38 pm
Ok, I need some help Please.  I have tried everything I have read, maybe incorrectly, to port forward my linksys NR041 router.  I have attached links to screen shots so maybe some good hearted soul can explain WTF I am doing wrong.

Wer have 2 computers set up on one router with DSL cable modem.  I want to OPEN myself up so that OTHER winmx users can share FROM me, or to share with them I should say.  I am being called a leach and I want others to DL from me.  I also want to be able to see my other computer online with winmx so the wife and I can trade as well.  Any help would so be appreciated.  TY in advance.

SCREEN SHOTS OF MY ROUTER
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/9189/routerna8.jpg
and
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/9189/routerna8.jpg
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: cnyguy on February 25, 2007, 08:44:47 pm
EDITED POST these are correct PICS, SORRY


http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/6489/router3mt2.jpg

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/6447/router2kr2.jpg
Title: Re: Post Router/DSL Modem Questions Here
Post by: Me Here on February 25, 2007, 09:36:25 pm
cnyguy

welcome to the site.. and as you showed up in the room welcome to there as well.. lol
The issue was resolved by a few port adjustments and removal of Windows Defender on one machine.. all seems well now.