WinMX World :: Forum

WinMX Help => Upload/Download Issues => Topic started by: teenkee on March 30, 2008, 01:36:20 am

Title: Latest Version
Post by: teenkee on March 30, 2008, 01:36:20 am
I need a link to the latest version and patches please. PC crash lost all. Router problems also. Put info in but doesn't seem to take. Maybe shutdown and restart. Thanks.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ]-[êll.Ôñ.ËÀR'][']-[. on March 30, 2008, 02:28:17 am
They can be got from here
http://patch.winmxconex.com/
If you need any help feel free to post back and leave a little info such as what o/s...isp and security you are using also what modem/router model and number.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: teenkee on March 30, 2008, 08:13:39 pm
Here's what I have, OS Vista, Frontier DSL, Speedstream 6520. I configured my ports TCP 6699 UDP 6257 in my router and Windows Security and allowed through Norton 2008. The version I installed ((Install-3.0-3.5b4) was the only version I had saved to disk before my PC crashed. I had no problems opening WinMX on XP. I have a sneaking suspicionh I have the wrong version/patches. Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ]-[êll.Ôñ.ËÀR'][']-[. on March 30, 2008, 08:17:39 pm
Update using the one for existing installs from here and you should be fine
http://patch.winmxconex.com/
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: teenkee on March 30, 2008, 11:20:02 pm
Even though I opened the ports for Windows I had to manually add what was allowed through the fire wall. Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ]-[êll.Ôñ.ËÀR'][']-[. on March 30, 2008, 11:29:31 pm
Usually the case with norton is a pain in the ass with p2p these days ( and a lot of other apps come to that) ...... you might possibly find it starts blocking again in the future and might need allowing again as norton has a mind of its own at times.
Btw if you have windows firewall running you really don't need the norton one as well or visa versa as this will cause conflicts in certain cases.
Good to see your up and running though.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: teenkee on March 31, 2008, 02:17:44 pm
Next inquiry. I am up and running but Vista won't let me access my incoming files folder. I tried creating new ones at different places but no go. Any ideas? Thanks.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ]-[êll.Ôñ.ËÀR'][']-[. on March 31, 2008, 06:07:58 pm
yea scrap vista and go back to xp lol .... you need to be logged on your pc with admin rights ... so just change your account to full rights and that should help.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: teenkee on April 01, 2008, 02:19:28 pm
I can get it to work, sort of. I opened the program as administrator (took awhile to figure that out). I assigned a different folder and installed and was able to load incoming. When I closed and reopened it was back to the same. On the patch install it talks about ABSOLUTE filepaths. What does this mean? Thank you.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Bearded Blunder on April 02, 2008, 04:17:38 am
Means the actual path, not a path with vista's pretend symbolic links in.. typically anything in your profile uses a symbolic link to shorten the apparent path...

if you make a folder for incoming *outside* this say for example c:\incoming\ you may have better sucesss
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: warlord on April 20, 2008, 04:54:44 pm
use vers 3.31 patched with quickmx started under admin,works fine no probs ,using vista and service pack 1 with mcafee anti virus/firewall
no loss of speed
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: joeman8159 on April 20, 2008, 07:26:18 pm
where can i re download i had  to redo my hard drive and i need and can find to reload please help me
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ']['affy on April 20, 2008, 08:10:05 pm
http://patch.winmxconex.com/

there u go
Title: Help
Post by: david mattison on May 06, 2008, 01:36:32 am
Hi,
I am having a problem when I try to open winmx I can not connect. Everything was fine and working until I switched to cable and dumped qwest dsl. I have tried deleting all files and the winmx program and reinstalled with the patch but still will not work when I try to install it says It says unable to make a outgoing tps? connection I think its called tps? any help would be great I feel lost without it!!!!!

I am running windows xp , us cable internet the modem box says smc networks  and the model number is smc8004cm , and I am using sygate personal firewall.

any help would be great thanks. :? :?
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: david mattison on May 06, 2008, 01:42:40 am
oops I ment to say tcp not tps lol
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on May 06, 2008, 10:37:44 am
David if its saying unable to make a TCP connection that is likely that those settings in WinMX got put on 'Unable' when a routine tcp test failed during install.

So here is what I'd like you to do for me.

1) Open WinMX > Settings > Incoming TCP > set this to 6699.
2) In Settings now click on In/Out UDP > set this to 6257.
3) Before you close WinMX, open the firewall settings in Sygate and find WinMX (there should be icons of things running that have either been given or denied access to the outside world) 
4) Right Click the WinMX icon and choose Ask.
5) Close WinMX now and restart it, Sygate will ask now and you tick the 'Remember my answer' then say YES.

Most Cable modems dont require port settings so this should be all you need to do
Let us know how this works for you.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Beluga on May 20, 2008, 12:26:01 pm
Hello WinMx Community.

I just registered and am dilligent to get my WinMX back.  I haven't been on since the original setup went down in 2005.

When I learned that it was possible to re-establish the P2P network I was really happy as I was very pleased with WinMX and it's limited potential to collect viruses/spyware/adware in transit.

I originally had WinMx v3.53 on my old PC which is still around but I have a new PC now and would like to download the appropriate version on my new desktop.

I would like to know the steps required to get back WinMX. 

From what I understand, I pick a version to download from here: http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=winmx
(I see that there was only one revision since 3.53; is 3.54 better?)

I then go to this site: http://patch.winmxconex.com/
to install the appropriate patch.  I see that 3.54 has an exclusive patch whereas there is also a universal patch for all versions including 3.54 (is the exclusive patch for 3.54 better performing?).   How does the  setup for "existing installs" differ from the "universal one"?

What will the patch do?  I understand it re-defiines the P2P ports.  Does installing the patch have any side effects on the Windows operating system?  This is a brand new computer and don't want to mess anything up I don't know how to fix.  I hope the patch only re-works the configurations of the WinMX program itself and nothing else (whereas any changes from instaling a patch would hopefully be a non-issue if I uninstall WinMX).  Does the downloaded patch prevent a complete uninstall?

I see here that some hare having issues with Vista.  I have XP SP3.

I also see that some here are having issues with Norton.  I have Windows Live One Care.

I see that some here are having issues with the ports on their routers.  With my setup above, will I have to worry about that?

Thanks,

Beluga
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on May 20, 2008, 01:40:12 pm
Hi Beluga,

First let me welcome you back to WinMX, we love hearing of users returning and are happy to help you with your questions.

Quote
From what I understand, I pick a version to download from here: http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=winmx
(I see that there was only one revision since 3.53; is 3.54 better?)

No this is not needed the patches, and WinMX installs w/patch are all you need from http://patch.winmxconex.com/

Quote
I then go to this site: http://patch.winmxconex.com/
to install the appropriate patch.  I see that 3.54 has an exclusive patch whereas there is also a universal patch for all versions including 3.54 (is the exclusive patch for 3.54 better performing?).   How does the  setup for "existing installs" differ from the "universal one"?

On the Patch site given above you will see a few downloads available.  If you have WinMX already installed on a PC, then the 'Existing installs' Patch install, is all you need.  If however you would like to Install a patched version of WinMX get either the MultiInstall or the 3.54 version (which is the latest version).
As for which performs better have a look here and decide what is right for you:
http://www.winmxworld.com/help/winmx-versions.html

Quote
What will the patch do?  I understand it re-defiines the P2P ports.  Does installing the patch have any side effects on the Windows operating system?  This is a brand new computer and don't want to mess anything up I don't know how to fix.  I hope the patch only re-works the configurations of the WinMX program itself and nothing else (whereas any changes from instaling a patch would hopefully be a non-issue if I uninstall WinMX).  Does the downloaded patch prevent a complete uninstall?

The patch does not re-define any ports, it simply redirects the existing WinMX.exe to the new connection system which you can find more information about here:
http://www.winmxworld.com/tutorials/patch_information.html

Installing the Patch should have no ill side effects on any Operating system, your simply adding a file that MS uses anyway in other locations with some code to redirect connections. 
This patch leaves you fully in control of uninstalling it and also adds a 'Add/Remove' for doing so in Control Panel which WinMX itself didn't always get around to in the old days.. lol.

Quote
I see here that some hare having issues with Vista.  I have XP SP3.

This should be fine, I'm sure you can appreciate we cant guarantee every system will have no issues, but those issues can all be worked out if you should come across any, just let us know here.

Quote
I also see that some here are having issues with Norton.  I have Windows Live One Care.

Usually issues with Norton are down to it not  being configured properly to allow WinMX the access it requires to work.  You should be fine if your familiar with how to configure your firewalls or antivirus to allow programs.

Quote
I see that some here are having issues with the ports on their routers.  With my setup above, will I have to worry about that?

I don't see any information above that would help me to answer this, like do you have a router?  Are you on DSL or Cable?  Those are things we'll need more information to help you with and frankly its all workable.  WinMX has not auto forwarding or uPnP support so again these are things we'll just have to take a step at a time.

Hope this helps and again welcome back, let us know if you have any further questions or issues.

Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Beluga on May 21, 2008, 03:22:09 am
Thanks Me Here,

I have a D-Link DI-604 Ethernet Broadband Router and a D-Link DSL-300G ADSL modem.

How many network multiples are there?  I remember in the pre-2006 days I was communicating with a friend in Europe while I was in North America and we could not see the same hits when we searched for a particular song at the same time.  Are there as many network multiples as before.  There must be a large base since WinMX is number one in Japan as I have read in Wikipedia.

When you say that the added file is a file that MS uses anyway, in case there is a conflict, will Add/Remove remove it as part of the WinMX program or is the patch Add/Removable seperately?

Is it reccomendable to have more than one P2P program installed (such as LimeWire) where there could be similar system file conflicts even though only one of the two programs would be running at one given time:?

Thanks

Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: SamSeeSam on May 21, 2008, 09:27:48 am
http://www.winmxworld.com/tutorials/wpn.html

Read the above link tounderstand how winmx works..

The thing is that you and your friends are connected to different sets of primaries.
So basically your search query travels through different routes and hence different results show up
Even when you search for the same thign twice, you'll rarely find the same results twice

There is absolutely no harm in running more than one P2P at the same time.
Only that your system will run slower (depending on the P2P used) to a small extent and that your bandwidth will be split between the two programs.
Personally I use utorrent and winmx together. And have had no issues whatsoever.

Cheers :P
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on May 21, 2008, 10:46:08 am
To add to your query,

The system file used is local to the WinMX directory your system wont even know its there except when WinMX uses it so there is not harm there.

As far as I'm aware the Add/Remove entry removes the entire WinMX directory (which is where the patch is located as well) and undoes any registry changes it made in the first place.

Bearded Blunder made this installer and added this feature I'm sure if im mistaken about this he can clarify it.  The long and short of the matter is there is no harm in adding this patch to your system.
Title: "Access error"
Post by: markndawoods0359 on May 23, 2008, 06:21:54 am
So frustrated...

d/l'd latest version, running xp home, linksys router w/dsl

I can connect, search, find and que files, but when it stars to d/l it gives me this message:

File Error> (5) "Access to G:\Music\_Incomplete(blah blah bla)

What's wrong?

*Edit (Sam) Removed the black colour usage as no one can read what's written then :/
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ]-[êll.Ôñ.ËÀR'][']-[. on May 23, 2008, 09:59:39 pm
The above has been answered in the other thread by ghostship containing the same post.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: grlygrl on June 15, 2008, 12:39:35 am
can anyone tell me please where i can get the winmx d ownload????? i use to have the winmxgroup download now i can't get any of them please help......
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Bearded Blunder on June 15, 2008, 05:45:53 am
to download winmx try http://patch.winmxconex.com

& to clarify MH's post above, on using the uninstall option from add/remove in control panel, you're first asked for confirmation, & then asked if you wish to remove the winmx folder regardless if it's empty afterward or not (this is the default behaviour), in either case uninstall first removes all the files associated with winmx along with it's shortcut, removes the add/remove entry from the registry & restores the oledlg.dll locking entry to the state it whas when you ran the installer (this primarily affects win 9x users)

in either case it then attempts to remove the winmx program folder, if you accepted the default selection it does so with a flag to remove regardless if it's empty or not, but you have the choice to have it try without this flag, in which case the removal will fail leaving the folder if you've added your own files, or have something like bendmx installed thereby preserving the settings for those add-ins should you later reinstall winmx..

i hope this clarifys it for everyone
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 21, 2008, 02:32:30 am
I have done everything that was recommended on these boards and still cannot get my WinMX to work again. I just got a new wireless cable modem and tried changing the port settings, unistalled Windows Defender, re-installed WinMX...it still will not work! Please help!!
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on September 21, 2008, 03:39:05 am
LD1965,

If you can describe whats happening in more detail we can help get you fixed up im sure, atm Im not entirely sure what you mean by 'working again'  give us more details like your set up rotuers, firewalls etc and where did you get your winmx and patch, and also whats exactly happening.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 21, 2008, 08:28:31 pm
Hi Me Here,
Sorry, I should have been more specific in my post. I have a Motorola SBG900 wireless cable modem. When I open WinMX it keeps trying to make a network connection but won't. When I try to check the settings it says "Unable to make outgoing TCP connection to test servers". I've tried manually configuring the TCP and UDP ports on my router, changing the WinMX settings to use Socks...I do not know what else to try.
Thanks
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 21, 2008, 08:53:20 pm
Hey Me Here,
I tried messing with my router settings again and I finally got it to work!
Thank you so much for your help. I've been with WinMX for years and am so happy to be able to still be here!
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 21, 2008, 11:50:16 pm
OK, so I thought I had it. Closed everything out, re-started and no more connection. Router gateway and firewall settings are  set at TCP Port 6699, UDP 6257. Same settings in WinMX app. I just do not know what else to try.
Thanks,
LD
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on September 22, 2008, 04:57:03 am
Ok LD1965,

Lets just make sure all is well from the top if you dont mind and hopefullly something in this array will get you sorted.

First thing I want you to do is open WinMX > Settings > Outgoing TCP > Set this or make sure its set to "Don't use a proxy server (connect direcly!)"
and always leave this settings as above.

Now go to Start > Run > type cmd and OK.
A new black box will appear, in it type ipconfig
Then hit Enter
You will now see some information, of this you want the one that says 'IP Address' Make a note of it.
**Note: not to be confused with the 'Default Gateway Address'.
Close the box.

Go back to your router confiurations interface, and the Port Forwarding section be sure that the rules you made prior are pointing to this same IP Address you made note of, if not change them now to the correct one.
Also while your here be sure you made two separate rules for WinMX.  One specifically for TCP/6699 and another for UDP/6257 to the above IP.
Apply if any changes.

Now Im not certain what firewall you have but since you mention the port Im going to assume that its either XP/Vista one or one similar in how it acts.

I want you to remove WinMX completely from the allowed/exceptions list. So that its not listed at all remove completely.  Then restart your WinMX at this time, The firewall should now ask you to 'allow this?' again and you can say yes, you may also need to go back in once this is done and re-Add your port settings, remember to add both if you have to add any.

Let me know if this helps get you connected again.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 27, 2008, 03:53:31 am
Hey Me Here,
I tried everything you suggested and still no go. I got this PC from work and wonder if the McAfee Group policies are what is jacking it up? It has not been on a network in years and I do not know why WinMX would work and then not work like it did. I've deleted and re-added both the gateway and firewall rules on my router and still get nothing. So frustrating! I appreciate your time and patience with me.
Thanks,
LD
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on September 27, 2008, 07:28:13 am
OK, usually if you are getting the flashing yellow on networks with WinMX, and in reading I think thats what we are dealing with here correct?  The actual connection to the network itself?

This is almost exculsively at issue with firewalls or antivirus causing this.  Is this McAfee what you use for your antivirus on this PC now? maybe its time to uninstall that and get something we know is more WinMX friendly like AVast (http://www.avast.com/eng/down_home.html) or maybe AVG (http://free.grisoft.com/doc/2/lng/us/tpl/v5)
Both of which are free and work with WinMx Nicely.

Those are antivirus not a firewall so its best to enable the XP firewall in this case, and use one of the antivirus mentioned above, keep in mind often antivirus like McAfee simply turned off can still cause problems so although its usually our policy not to ask folks to uninstall things, because this was a work set up Im thinking its best.

The other possibility with this is ISP blocking your access, at this time your on RoadRunner I believe and we have NO knownledge of them doing anything of the sort, so again I have to suspect something on the Machine, Maybe its time to have a serious look at any protective measures on the Machine.  As your rightly thinking Work machines often have more serious security measures in place for both keeping traffic IN and keeping it OUT.

So uninstall McAfee, and have a look to make sure other security programs are not installed as well that could cause this.
(if your unsure how winmx friendly they are post here we'll let you know)
Confirm for me:
WinMX > Settings > Outgoing TCP > Set to "Don't use a proxy server (connect direcly!)"
**Not to be confused with Incoming TCP**
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: LD1965 on September 28, 2008, 08:07:29 pm
Hi ME here,
Yes it is set to Don't use a proxy server. I'm afraid to uninstall McAfee and it will not let me turn Windows Firewall back on. I checked the McAfee logs and saw an entry for WinMX but it did not say that it blocked it.  
I just re-set the firewall port range in my router for WinMX to 6257-10000 and it worked! I had to configure the Port Forwarding TCP/UDPs separately and thought I had to do the same for the Firewall settings but it would not work that way. Re-setting it to TCP/UDP with the port range did it!
Thank you so much for all of your help! Hopefully the headache I just went thru will help someone else out!
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Me Here on September 28, 2008, 09:53:41 pm
well im glad to hear its working as well and yes hopefully others will benefit from your solution.

Happy WinMXing    ;)
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Forested665 on May 14, 2009, 05:16:17 pm
http://patch.winmxconex.com/
or you can click patch at the top of this page
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Becca on June 26, 2009, 12:20:45 am
just upgraded to wireless and can't get winMX to work. Running Vista and am connected with a cat 5 cable directly to an antennae. Please help!
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Forested665 on June 26, 2009, 01:37:01 am
Hi becca. do you mean your cat5 cable goes to a little powered box with an antenna and then connects wireless to a router or that your plugged into the router?

Eitherway the ports for winmx need to be forwarded in the router.
First i suggest you set up a static up. a guide for this can be found here: http://winmxworld.com/tutorials/static_ip.html

Then for help configuring your router you can go here: http://portforward.com/
Once there select your router make and model from the list on the front page. then from the second list select winmx and it will give you step by step instructions on configuring your router. It even has pictures!

Post back for additional help or join the room on winmx @ WinMxWorld.Com Help_BABA1354BABE
Remember you do not need to be connected to join a room (yellow light not the red light)
Just put the address in the filterbar and click join.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: fish628 on October 11, 2010, 06:24:42 pm
is it normal or usual to consistently notice faster upload speeds than download speeds? my download limit is set to 100000000 and my upload limit is set to 50000000 as recommended by a user, and i almost always am uploading noticeably faster than most is not all downloads... using 3.54b4 on xp and cable with d-link router.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: fish628 on October 11, 2010, 07:29:59 pm
ok, nevermind... i read through some stuff i had not seen on the help pages before... i have changed my bandwidth settings and have seen and increase in d/l and a decrease in u/l and that was what i was after...

wonder why someone would tell me to use settings that don't work, and in fact make things worse? oh well...

one should always go with the suggests on the help pages...
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: GhostShip on October 11, 2010, 08:55:02 pm
Quote
one should always go with the suggests on the help pages...

Thats a sensible policy Fish  8)
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: tom_tagliente19 on October 27, 2010, 07:22:58 pm
I am running Windows 7. Connecting is not happening at all. All I get is the blinking yellow button but nmo solid green one as I remember from years ago running Windows ME. Is there a download compatible for Windows 7? HELP!!!! I really LOVE this site and would like to be able to use it again. - Tom
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: GhostShip on October 27, 2010, 07:34:05 pm
Have you added the patch Tom ?

http://patch.winmxconex.com/

Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: tom_tagliente19 on October 27, 2010, 07:48:21 pm
That worked. Thank you very much.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: tom_tagliente19 on October 27, 2010, 07:58:20 pm
I can't hear samples of my downloads to make sure I am getting the vewsion I want. Any way of doing this?
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: GhostShip on October 27, 2010, 08:15:18 pm
In the transfers window you should be able to select the item your downloading as it downloads and right click on it and select "Play" it will then allow you to hear whats coming down the line althought this method is best used when you got a few percent already "in the can" so it doesnt judder if your line is not so fast.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Lagerlout666 on May 14, 2011, 06:46:27 pm
VLC is the prefered method, windows media player doesnt play too great with bit/partial files.

You can get VLC from these locations.

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-ubuntu.html

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-fedora.html

Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: rassmopp on June 20, 2011, 06:19:32 pm
I'm getting all kinds of files show up when I search for something specific. Does anyone know of a new patch, or is anyone else having problems?
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: Todd on June 21, 2011, 05:17:56 pm
Is there a way to correct the search issues in WinMX? Everytime I do a search, it comes up with garbage or things I am not even searching for. It worked fine until a couple months ago. I haven't seen any fixes for this issue anywhere. I just reinstalled to see if that would correct it and it didn't. I am running Windows 7 64-bit. Thanks in advance for any suggestions you can offer.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: ..Ñøßߥ.. on June 21, 2011, 05:56:05 pm
Todd, the network is currently under attacked by some bored ex-users, a fix is being worked on, please just bear with it for a while and check back here regularly.
Title: Re: Latest Version
Post by: duke on July 28, 2011, 12:35:34 pm
of course we'll be as patient as required ..tia