WinMX World :: Forum

WinMX Help => Other WinMX Help => Topic started by: badatti2d on June 18, 2006, 02:03:30 pm

Title: Static IP ?
Post by: badatti2d on June 18, 2006, 02:03:30 pm
Hope this doesn't make sound like a total goober, but can someone tell me how to find my Static IP Address?  I have gone through www.portforward.com, found my router, found the program to forward ports for, but the first thing it wants is my static ip address...
I went through:   start>run>cmd>ipconfig/all      but none is listed as my static ip address...I just know the answer is a simple one, but sometimes this old guy, with sooo many dead and damaged brain cells, has a hard time grasping the simple things....lol   thanks
Title: Re: Static IP ?
Post by: Me Here on June 18, 2006, 02:11:37 pm
They recommend that you 'make a static' IP address for your computers, its common for you to reboot your networks and find WinMX not working because your router as assigned your PC a new Internal or Default IP Address.  Creating a Static one prevents this occuring.

Here are the instruction pages for making one:
http://www.portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm