gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
76793 Posts in 13502 Topics by 1651 Members - Latest Member: Arnold99 October 07, 2024, 03:23:38 am
gfx*gfx
gfx
WinMX World :: Forum  |  WinMX Help  |  Other WinMX Help  |  general question
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: general question  (Read 1212 times)

peer guardian &open n

general question
« on: January 17, 2006, 12:45:38 am »
i'm fairly new to this so bear with me ,i had to start using p2gas my connections were getting cut off .but my question is "should the block http be off or on "? if i have it off will that cause any effect to my upl and dl's?-- just started on the open nap network-- my question is -what is the difference between the two {winmx and open nap) and if im on one or the other will the dl's and ul's be affected ? - if i que up a file while on the open nap network then go back to winmx network will the que still start or only when in that network ?  thanks in advanced     Bryan L

c2R

Re: general question
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2006, 08:05:50 am »
Quote from: peer guardian &open n
just started on the open nap network-- my question is -what is the difference between the two {winmx and open nap)

opennap is an older method of filesharing, based on that which the original napster used, where you all connect to a single server which contains a list of the files you are sharing.  You can connect to many different opennap servers at once.  WinMX is much more advanced as it does away with this need for fixed main servers, instead using primary nodes that can talk to oneanother.

and if im on one or the other will the dl's and ul's be affected ? - if i que up a file while on the open nap network then go back to winmx network will the que still start or only when in that network ?