gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
76774 Posts in 13500 Topics by 1651 Members - Latest Member: insider4ever April 19, 2024, 12:30:38 am
gfx*gfx
gfx
WinMX World :: Forum  |  WinMX Help  |  Chat Issues  |  Hosting on NETGEAR a No No!!!
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Hosting on NETGEAR a No No!!!  (Read 8375 times)

Offline Lagerlout666

• Forum Member
Hosting on NETGEAR a No No!!!
« on: October 08, 2006, 11:28:09 pm »
Right this is abit crazy and i cant belive that netgear have done this.
I recently got a new Netgear router dg834g v3 free and was really made up as it had a hub built in and was supported by crappy aol.
I got it all set up and connected and was made up and i have been hosting on winmx for about 12 months and i started to have continual problems. people would just keep on dropping out the room all the time or would connect and then drop straight away again, This became a night mare and i tried everything thinking it was me, i hunted for network card updates i tried every slot on the router, i set up dmz port forward no firewall everything till i eventuallly decided it wasnt me being stupid.
I hunted high and low on the net but didnt seem to find much in the way of any documents or problems reported by peple using this prodoct, just mainly people being happy wid the new router, in the end i visited here:

http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/N100725.asp

Now in plain english it say's
If you cannot use UPnP, the number of users simultaneously accessing the same Internet application will be limited:

Without UPnP, NETGEAR routers only support one person playing the same application at one time

So on reading this i realised that my wcs was manually portforwarded, an that all of the servers that ive seen that you can use none of them use upnp.