gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
76775 Posts in 13501 Topics by 1651 Members - Latest Member: insider4ever May 11, 2024, 02:09:13 am
gfx*gfx
gfx
WinMX World :: Forum  |  WinMX Help  |  Upload/Download Issues  |  File Sharing Etiquette?
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: File Sharing Etiquette?  (Read 52905 times)

Offline bilvihur

• Forum Member
File Sharing Etiquette?
« on: November 24, 2006, 02:43:39 am »
I'm relatively new to WINMX, but have had the following experience enough times to trouble me: I may Browse a User while downloading a file, and attempt to put multiple download requests in his queue and wait my turn. Abruptly, the original download will disconnect, and all others in the queue will time out. Is it bad manners to make multiple requests of one user? I have 5 upload slots, and allow 2 per user at any time. I don't have a problem with a dozen requests by the same person, as long as they're willing to wait their turn.   :(

Offline SamSeeSam

• Forum Member
  • The Sky will never Fall on our heads
Re: File Sharing Etiquette?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 06:04:33 am »
Some people use mx moniter which will disconnect if you queue up too many files togatehr.
Go to winmx>queuing and set the maximum number of downloads per user to 3. Which works great for me.
You can browse and queue up files. But make sure that you do not hog the other person's bandwidth.
Not exactly bad manners to queue up many files. But the thing is that people may be sharing many files and that others may be denied of their chance to download their files.
Set the downloads per user to three and you will automaticially enter the queue for another file once you finish the one that is downloading.
Also note:
If you use opennap the you cannot multi source downloads so if you keep clicking all the yellow files you get in the searches, then all you are doing is downloading the same file over and over again.