gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
76774 Posts in 13500 Topics by 1651 Members - Latest Member: insider4ever March 28, 2024, 08:24:17 am
gfx*gfx
gfx
WinMX World :: Forum  |  WinMX Help  |  Upload/Download Issues  |  Poor downloads, timed out uploads
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Poor downloads, timed out uploads  (Read 2611 times)

Offline allenx1966

• Forum Member
Poor downloads, timed out uploads
« on: July 14, 2010, 02:53:10 am »
ok,start with where i was. i had and old linksys router,worked fine for a long time. it was set up with a static ip, which i call a permanent ip. i am no router expert. when i first had it, winmx stopped working and i got tech help from linksys ,and problem was solved when they helped me set up a static ip. i also changed the udp and tcp default ports just for added help. for a couple years of more,this worked fine and i have been very happy with winmx and recommended it to lots of people. then all of the sudden the uploads started failing and searches only became possible on SECONDARY connection and downloads probably became about 80% less successful . i tried a few things, checked firewall and all the typical stuff, no help. since we been adding laptops and other wireless items i decided maybe it was time to update my router since it was over 3 years old.

fast forward .... i got a new Valet Plus router. tried winmx again ..... same issues , the uploads started failing and searches only became possible on SECONDARY connection and downloads probably became about 80% less successful . i did a static ip with and without port forwarding, no help. i did port forwarding, no help. i did all the typical things everyone suggests. i was not fond of having a static ip anyway,so that does not upset me it failed.