gfxgfx

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

gfx gfx
gfx
76793 Posts in 13502 Topics by 1651 Members - Latest Member: Arnold99 September 29, 2024, 12:32:26 pm
gfx*gfx
gfx
WinMX World :: Forum  |  Third Party Stuff  |  Upload/Download managers  |  Primaries
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Primaries  (Read 3603 times)

Primary001

Primaries
« on: March 04, 2006, 10:56:12 pm »
Ok, finaly got WinMX to be able to send and receive TCP and UP packets, but have a few questions.

1.  Whats the Benefit of beeing a primary as I only see 3 primarys online and a heap of secondries?
2.  What are the disavantages of being a primary?
3.  Should I be running any addition programs that work with WinMX that will help with my security and those that download of me?

and Yes I am a newb but I also want to keep the shareing alive as I like to try things before buying them to see if I really like them or if they are just a waste of money and space.

KM

Re: Primaries
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2006, 11:10:03 pm »
1. you aren't depending on routing everything through another user, this means search results/channel lists/etc go directly to you instead of going to another user which then slowly sends it down to you - it also means no disconnecting from the network and having to start joining everyones queues again
2. it uses a lot of bandwidth :-)
3. not if using the winmxgroup patch, but if using the pie text file you'll need to install peer guardian at the very least

and btw, i like p2p network for a different reason, not because i want to see if i like something or not before buying it - but because i am too cheap to buy it in the first place so p2p is the only way i'd end up getting it :-)

Galactic Overlord

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2006, 08:23:09 am »
Here Here  KM

as a photographer all the programs I needed for editing ... authoring ... databasing....
all were going to cost me thousands of $ best spent on equipment.....